What Car? Awards 2018


What Car? Awards 2018 - The winners from our brands

Last night (Tuesday 23rd January) the prestigious What Car? Car of the Year Awards were held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in Park Lane, and this year saw the 40th Anniversary of the event.

While the Volvo XC40 saw off close competition from the SEAT Ateca and SKODA Karoq to win the big prize of Car of the Year, Vindis Group brands still came out well in many of the 21 different categories.

SKODA always do well at the Awards, and 2018 was no different, with the SKODA Citigo 1.0 SE 60 3 door winning the Best City Car Award, the SKODA Superb Estate beating the SKODA Fabia Estate as the overall winner of the Estate Car award, and the SKODA Octavia pipping both the SEAT Leon and Audi A3 Sportback as the overall winner of the Best Family Car Award.

SEAT won two overall winner awards with the SEAT Ibiza 1.0 TSI 95 FR claiming the Best Small Car prize and the SEAT Arona prevailing in the Best Small SUV category ahead of the Audi Q2.

For Audi, the Audi Q5 featured in the Large SUV category, the Audi A3 and A5 Cabriolets were both winners in the convertible category, and overall winners for the premium brand came in the shape of the Audi A4 2.0 TDI 190 Ultra Sport S Tronic winning the overall award for Best Executive Car. The iconic Audi TT was overall winner in the Coupe category ahead of the all-new Audi A5 Coupe.

The Bentley Bentayga was a winner in the Luxury SUV category but was beaten by the overall winner, the Audi Q7 3.0 TDi quattro S line.

The Volkswagen Touran was the overall winner of the Best MPV award, while the Volkswagen Passat GTE and Audi Q7 e-tron were winners in the Best Hybrid Car category.

Finally, the new Volkswagen T-Roc came third in the Car Safety Award and the Audi A8L was a winner in the Best Luxury Car category.

If you are interested in finding out more about our winners in the What Car? Awards 2018, then please go to our locations page and visit your nearest Vindis Group business.

Congratulations go to all the winners!